First Girl Gone

Pages

Hours to read

Total words

by

SKU N/A Categories , ,

Description

Synopsis

Down the beach, she can just make out the rusting hulk of the Ferris wheel through the dawn mist. The hairs prickle on her neck as she drags her focus back to the chestnut hair fanned out in the shallow water at her feet, to the grains of sand decorating the beautiful girl’s white cheeks like freckles.

Detective Charlie Winters never thought she’d find herself back on Salem Island, but she’s forced home re-open the wound that never healed: her sister was abducted from the small town when they were teenagers. But now a family friend needs her help to find her missing daughter, Kara.

Searching Kara’s messy, poster-covered bedroom, Charlie finds more questions than answers. Did Kara run away, or was she snatched? She’s clearly been keeping secrets from her family—but don’t all teenagers?

A little black matchbook hidden in a jewellery box is Charlie’s only lead, but the seedy nightclub it comes from proves to be nothing but a dangerous dead end. Until Charlie is approached by a second distraught mother whose daughter has also vanished.

Forced at every turn to relive the trauma she ran away from, Charlie’s blood runs cold when a girl’s body is discovered in the exact spot on the water’s edge where the last trace of her sister was found. It’s clear someone is taunting Charlie, but with other innocent girls’ lives at risk, she has no choice but to take the bait…

An absolutely unputdownable crime thriller that will leave you gasping for breath. Fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Lisa Regan will need to sleep with the lights on!

Readers love First Girl Gone:

Leaves you on the edge of your seat until the wee hours of the morning. Kept me enthralled from cover to cover. Heart-stopping suspense.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘A great start to a new series. It is a true page-turner and I was truly blind-sided by the reveal. Lots of potential and promise in this series.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Wow…This is so much better than the majority of crime books out thereSuspenseful, engrossing… All of the characters are believable… I want to read the next one please pretty please.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Stylish, taut and addictive… One of the masterpieces of 2020 I was drawn in from the very first word kept me hooked until I read its wonderful and satisfying ending. I completed it in one night.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars

Stayed up far too late devouring this absolutely gripping and unputdownable crime thriller… I absolutely cannot wait to read more… kept on the edge of my seat… there’s absolutely no way I could’ve predicted where this was going. This is extremely well-written and fast-paced… completely addicted to this book. A definite five star read.’ Little Miss Book Lover 87, 5 stars

‘What a fantastic start to this new series. Believable characters, great pacing and a plot with some clever twists and turns it certainly kept me totally absorbed from page one to the unexpected and surprising ending I certainly didn’t see coming. Loved it and look forward to the next in the series.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Additional information

Format

Paperback

Get notified when THE VISION is update

The Atom: A Visual Tour (The MIT Press)

  • 100 Pages

  • 5-7 Hours to read

  • 10000 Total words

An accessible and engaging guide to the atom, the smallest, most fundamental constituent of matter. Until now, popular science has relegated the atom to a supporting role in defining the different chemical elements of the...

Invisible Girl

  • Pages

  • Hours to read

  • Total words

“I absolutely loved***Invisible Girl—***Lisa Jewell has a way of combining furiously twisty, utterly gripping plots with wonderfully rich characterization—she has such compassion for her characters, and we feel we know them utterly… A triumph!” —Lucy Foley, New...

The 20th Victim

  • Pages

  • Hours to read

  • Total words

Sergeant Lindsay Boxer tackles an ambitious case that spans San Francisco, L.A., and Chicago in this pulse-pounding thriller of "smart characters" and "shocking twists" (Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author). Three victims, three bullets, three...

Featured Books

From $7.00/month USD

by

Pages

Hours to read

Total words

Unlock any 2 Paid Stories per month from hundreds of stories

From $4.00/month USD

by

Pages

Hours to read

Total words

Unlock any 2 Paid Stories per month from hundreds of stories

The Atom: A Visual Tour (The MIT Press)

by

Jack Challoner

100

Pages

5-7

Hours to read

10000

Total words

[trx_socials type=”icons” size=”tiny” shape=”round” custom=”no” top=”inherit” bottom=”inherit” left=”inherit” right=”inherit”][/trx_socials]

by Jack Challoner

Synopsis

An accessible and engaging guide to the atom, the smallest, most fundamental constituent of matter.

Until now, popular science has relegated the atom to a supporting role in defining the different chemical elements of the periodic table. In this book, Jack Challoner places the atom at center stage. The Atom investigates the quest to identify the smallest, most fundamental constituents of matter—and how that quest helps us to understand what everything is made of and how it all works. Challoner covers a wide range of topics—including the development of scientific thinking about atoms and the basic structure of atoms; how atomic interactions account for the familiar properties of everyday materials; the power of the atomic nucleus; and what the mysterious quantum realm of subatomic particles can tell us about the very nature of reality.

Illustrated in color throughout, The Atom offers clear answers to questions we have all pondered, as well as some we have never even dreamed of. It describes the amazing discoveries scientists have made about the fundamental building blocks of matter—from quarks to nuclear fission to the “God particle”—and explains them accessibly and concisely. The Atom is the engaging and straightforward introduction to the topic that we didn’t get in school.

>  GET THE EBOOK  <

First Girl Gone

Pages

Hours to read

Total words

by

SKU N/A Categories , ,

Description

Synopsis

Down the beach, she can just make out the rusting hulk of the Ferris wheel through the dawn mist. The hairs prickle on her neck as she drags her focus back to the chestnut hair fanned out in the shallow water at her feet, to the grains of sand decorating the beautiful girl’s white cheeks like freckles.

Detective Charlie Winters never thought she’d find herself back on Salem Island, but she’s forced home re-open the wound that never healed: her sister was abducted from the small town when they were teenagers. But now a family friend needs her help to find her missing daughter, Kara.

Searching Kara’s messy, poster-covered bedroom, Charlie finds more questions than answers. Did Kara run away, or was she snatched? She’s clearly been keeping secrets from her family—but don’t all teenagers?

A little black matchbook hidden in a jewellery box is Charlie’s only lead, but the seedy nightclub it comes from proves to be nothing but a dangerous dead end. Until Charlie is approached by a second distraught mother whose daughter has also vanished.

Forced at every turn to relive the trauma she ran away from, Charlie’s blood runs cold when a girl’s body is discovered in the exact spot on the water’s edge where the last trace of her sister was found. It’s clear someone is taunting Charlie, but with other innocent girls’ lives at risk, she has no choice but to take the bait…

An absolutely unputdownable crime thriller that will leave you gasping for breath. Fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Lisa Regan will need to sleep with the lights on!

Readers love First Girl Gone:

Leaves you on the edge of your seat until the wee hours of the morning. Kept me enthralled from cover to cover. Heart-stopping suspense.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘A great start to a new series. It is a true page-turner and I was truly blind-sided by the reveal. Lots of potential and promise in this series.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Wow…This is so much better than the majority of crime books out thereSuspenseful, engrossing… All of the characters are believable… I want to read the next one please pretty please.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Stylish, taut and addictive… One of the masterpieces of 2020 I was drawn in from the very first word kept me hooked until I read its wonderful and satisfying ending. I completed it in one night.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars

Stayed up far too late devouring this absolutely gripping and unputdownable crime thriller… I absolutely cannot wait to read more… kept on the edge of my seat… there’s absolutely no way I could’ve predicted where this was going. This is extremely well-written and fast-paced… completely addicted to this book. A definite five star read.’ Little Miss Book Lover 87, 5 stars

‘What a fantastic start to this new series. Believable characters, great pacing and a plot with some clever twists and turns it certainly kept me totally absorbed from page one to the unexpected and surprising ending I certainly didn’t see coming. Loved it and look forward to the next in the series.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Additional information

Format

Paperback

Get notified when THE VISION is update

The Atom: A Visual Tour (The MIT Press)

  • 100 Pages

  • 5-7 Hours to read

  • 10000 Total words

An accessible and engaging guide to the atom, the smallest, most fundamental constituent of matter. Until now, popular science has relegated the atom to a supporting role in defining the different chemical elements of the...

Invisible Girl

  • Pages

  • Hours to read

  • Total words

“I absolutely loved***Invisible Girl—***Lisa Jewell has a way of combining furiously twisty, utterly gripping plots with wonderfully rich characterization—she has such compassion for her characters, and we feel we know them utterly… A triumph!” —Lucy Foley, New...

The 20th Victim

  • Pages

  • Hours to read

  • Total words

Sergeant Lindsay Boxer tackles an ambitious case that spans San Francisco, L.A., and Chicago in this pulse-pounding thriller of "smart characters" and "shocking twists" (Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author). Three victims, three bullets, three...